All things Japanese

Life, death, the weather and anything else
Xac
Description: keeping it UNreal since 2004

All things Japanese

Postby Xac » Fri 3. Jan 2014, 11:41

Ok Pegasus...had a look, can't see someone has done a thread already on this one! Correct me if I'm wrong. :D

Anyway...there seems to be quite a bit of interest in Japan, language and culture from the users of the forum and sometimes other people's threads have gone off their original topics to talk about it. So I thought we could have a dedicated one here ;)

I'm not an expert in Japanese, but spent several years living there, so picked up a few bits and pieces...but there are others on the forum who know a lot more if you need more info.

To kick things off I thought I'd help everyone learn their first few kanji. Not all kanji are complicated, some are just a few simple strokes. So here are the numbers 1 to 5, which are the same in Chinese, but with different pronunciations, (obviously).

kanji 1 to 5.jpg
Kanji 1 to 5
kanji 1 to 5.jpg (28.14 KiB) Viewed 2911 times
I tried to drown my sorrows, but somehow they learned how to swim...

Xac

Re: All things Japanese

Postby Xac » Fri 3. Jan 2014, 11:46

Ok, after that, I'm sure you're all dying to know what 6 to 10 are, so here you go! :lol:

kanji 6 to 10.jpg
kanji 6 to 10
kanji 6 to 10.jpg (32.35 KiB) Viewed 2910 times

EmanReleipS
Description: Pancake Fairy

Postby EmanReleipS » Sat 4. Jan 2014, 17:07

This thread is a great idea, Xac! Khoma's thread was getting especially bad - I'm sorry for hijacking it!

Anything in particular anyone wants to know?

Wormbo
Description: Coding Dude

Postby Wormbo » Sat 4. Jan 2014, 17:14

/me scratches head..

"8" - "Gesundheit!"

Ahem. :P

/me leaves again

EmanReleipS
Description: Pancake Fairy

Postby EmanReleipS » Sat 4. Jan 2014, 17:20

Wormbo wrote:/me scratches head..

"8" - "Gesundheit!"

/me leaves again

/me laughs

Xac

Postby Xac » Tue 7. Jan 2014, 11:30

EmanReleipS wrote: