What's your pc rig?

Life, death, the weather and anything else
User avatar
GLoups!
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri 3. Feb 2012, 17:57
Description: Just play for fun.
Location: Fr

What's your pc rig?

Post by GLoups! » Sat 29. Jun 2019, 15:24

Crusha K. Rool wrote:I upgraded my RAM from 2x 4GB DDR3 @~600MHz to 2x 8GB DDR3 @1600MHz.

The sole reason being that I simply ran out of memory when starting Cities Skylines with mods and all DLCs. Didn't have any problems in other modern games, but that one is even now consuming about 12 GB of memory.
Don't really notice any performance benefit from the higher frequency, though. Maybe I just have different standards when it comes to game performance. If a game runs at 60 FPS, that's more than enough for me. I don't even have any problems as long as it's still above 30 FPS.
Depend on what's is the bottleneck on your rig, then with the best ram frequency the result will remain unnoticeable, this has a greater impact on the last generations or cpu/gpu, also 60 fps is good for me as well... except for ut2004 :D

User avatar
Crusha K. Rool
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun 28. Aug 2011, 23:14
Description: Coding Crocodile
Location: Germany

What's your pc rig?

Post by Crusha K. Rool » Sun 30. Jun 2019, 09:16

GLoups! wrote:Depend on what's is the bottleneck on your rig, then with the best ram frequency the result will remain unnoticeable, this has a greater impact on the last generations or cpu/gpu, also 60 fps is good for me as well... except for ut2004 :D
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H87-HD3
CPU: Intel Core i5-4570 @ 3.20GHz
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1.6GHz
GPU: Radeon R9 380 4GB VRAM
HDD: Something from Seagate with 7200 rpm
Audio: Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio

User avatar
EmanReleipS
Administrator
Posts: 2255
Joined: Wed 2. Oct 2013, 23:18
Description: Pancake Fairy
Location: Germany

What's your pc rig?

Post by EmanReleipS » Sun 30. Jun 2019, 21:58

Crusha K. Rool wrote:I upgraded my RAM from 2x 4GB DDR3 @~600MHz to 2x 8GB DDR3 @1600MHz.

The sole reason being that I simply ran out of memory when starting Cities Skylines with mods and all DLCs. Didn't have any problems in other modern games, but that one is even now consuming about 12 GB of memory.
Don't really notice any performance benefit from the higher frequency, though. Maybe I just have different standards when it comes to game performance. If a game runs at 60 FPS, that's more than enough for me. I don't even have any problems as long as it's still above 30 FPS.
I love Cities: Skylines! :thumbup:
But yeah, it can be rather cpu-heavy, especially if you have a lot of traffic. :lol:

I noticed that my cpu wasn't good enough when I swapped out the graphics card for Star Wars: Battlefront II. The auto settings jumped from everything set to "low" to "high", but it was still incredibly laggy, so had to upgrade the cpu as well.
Image

User avatar
Miauz55555
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun 7. Jun 2015, 22:12
Location: Germany

What's your pc rig?

Post by Miauz55555 » Mon 1. Jul 2019, 20:28

EmanReleipS wrote:[...]I'm gonna need to get a different power supply or case if I want to connect the second HDD, because right now the cables form the power supply can't reach all 3 storage devices (the graphics card is also in the way).
Get a decent one with cable managemant. And a bigger than 530 W, 600+ should be fine. Your new GPU needs a minimum system power from 500 W also when it just consumes 145 W. And get one with a good 80+ certificate. My power suply just died the heat death yesterday while playing Witcher 3 for an hour. But I had two older spare supplies here.

This one looks nice:
https://www.alternate.de/be-quiet/Dark- ... t/1224609?

I need a new system .. I still have my GTX570 and so on but 12 GB DDR3 RAM at 1333.
Image

User avatar
EmanReleipS
Administrator
Posts: 2255
Joined: Wed 2. Oct 2013, 23:18
Description: Pancake Fairy
Location: Germany

What's your pc rig?

Post by EmanReleipS » Tue 2. Jul 2019, 06:22

Miauz55555 wrote:
EmanReleipS wrote:[...]I'm gonna need to get a different power supply or case if I want to connect the second HDD, because right now the cables form the power supply can't reach all 3 storage devices (the graphics card is also in the way).
Get a decent one with cable managemant. And a bigger than 530 W, 600+ should be fine. Your new GPU needs a minimum system power from 500 W also when it just consumes 145 W. And get one with a good 80+ certificate. My power suply just died the heat death yesterday while playing Witcher 3 for an hour. But I had two older spare supplies here.

This one looks nice:
https://www.alternate.de/be-quiet/Dark- ... t/1224609?

I need a new system .. I still have my GTX570 and so on but 12 GB DDR3 RAM at 1333.
Thanks, Miau! If you are interested in my old stuff (Intel Core i5 4590 4x 3.30GHz, Gigabyte GeForce GTX 760 OC Windforce 3X 4095MB), let me know.
Image

User avatar
Miauz55555
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun 7. Jun 2015, 22:12
Location: Germany

What's your pc rig?

Post by Miauz55555 » Tue 2. Jul 2019, 22:58

EmanReleipS wrote:Thanks, Miau! If you are interested in my old stuff (Intel Core i5 4590 4x 3.30GHz, Gigabyte GeForce GTX 760 OC Windforce 3X 4095MB), let me know.
Thank you Ema.
I would suggest you to keep it as spare stuff.
I have an AMD x6 1090T so I couldn't use your old CPU. When you want some space in your room I would take your old GPU. But only when your current system is running stable with your new GPU, or you have another old spare one.
Image

User avatar
SysX
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat 4. Mar 2017, 08:59
Location: Holland / Netherlands

What's your pc rig?

Post by SysX » Thu 4. Jul 2019, 18:22

EmanReleipS wrote: I love Cities: Skylines! :thumbup:
Me too! Anyway I hope I can do a upgrade next summer, so far the rig still runs fine and I need a new car first :(
WOooHOoo!! »\o\°\O/°/o/«

User avatar
EmanReleipS
Administrator
Posts: 2255
Joined: Wed 2. Oct 2013, 23:18
Description: Pancake Fairy
Location: Germany

What's your pc rig?

Post by EmanReleipS » Thu 4. Jul 2019, 19:23

Crusha K. Rool wrote:
SysX wrote:
You two might enjoy the game "Islanders". It is a minimalist strategy/building game, developed by a team of three. It is rather cheap on Steam (and it is on sale now as well). I just got it and I'm very impressed by how well done it is. I find it very relaxing.
Image

User avatar
EmanReleipS
Administrator
Posts: 2255
Joined: Wed 2. Oct 2013, 23:18
Description: Pancake Fairy
Location: Germany

What's your pc rig?

Post by EmanReleipS » Sat 20. Jul 2019, 19:42

Miauz55555 wrote:
EmanReleipS wrote:[...]I'm gonna need to get a different power supply or case if I want to connect the second HDD, because right now the cables form the power supply can't reach all 3 storage devices (the graphics card is also in the way).
Get a decent one with cable managemant. And a bigger than 530 W, 600+ should be fine. Your new GPU needs a minimum system power from 500 W also when it just consumes 145 W. And get one with a good 80+ certificate. My power suply just died the heat death yesterday while playing Witcher 3 for an hour. But I had two older spare supplies here.

This one looks nice:
https://www.alternate.de/be-quiet/Dark- ... t/1224609?

I need a new system .. I still have my GTX570 and so on but 12 GB DDR3 RAM at 1333.
I did almost as you suggested and got the 600 Watt be quiet! Pure Power 11 CM Modular 80+ Gold, which wasn't too expensive (less than half of the one you linked).

Also got a new case: AeroCool Aero 1000 White Edition. It is really neat. Good cable management, 5 fans (3 pre-installed and I added 2 more), 3 removable dust filters. Lots of space in case I want to add more stuff later. Runs a bit louder than I am used to, but then again I went from having 1 case fan to 5 case fans.

Also, now I can finally say that I've build my own PC. My first PC (from 2010) was built by my oldest brother (in exchange for a cake), with the parts that my second-oldest brother selected for me based on my budget. I added and upgraded parts over the years, including switching out the motherboard and processor in 2014, but now that I've replaced the remaining two parts from 2010 (the case and power supply), and transferred all parts to the new case, I finally feel that I really built this entire PC myself. :D

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3 Intel H97-HD3
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4x4.0ghz
Graphic card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX
Power supply: 600 Watt be quiet! Pure Power 11 CM Modular 80+ Gold
Case: AeroCool Aero 1000 White Edition
SSD: Samsung SSD 840 EVO (250GB)
HDD: Western Digital WD5000AADS-67S9B1 ATA Device (500GB)
HDD: Seagate FireCuda 2TB

Monitor: Philips 246E7Q 24"
Mouse: Logitech Optical Gaming Mouse G402
Mousepad: Steelseries, size S
Keyboard: Rapoo V100
Headphones: Sennheiser GSP 300
OS: Windows 10
Image

User avatar
Miauz55555
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun 7. Jun 2015, 22:12
Location: Germany

Re: What's your pc rig?

Post by Miauz55555 » Wed 24. Jul 2019, 21:26

Some nice parts. The case is looking very nice and also fuctional.
Image