Running UT2004 on Windows 10

UT2004 related discussions
[P]etya
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue 16. Jun 2015, 07:42
Description: someone

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby [P]etya » Sat 26. Dec 2015, 13:22

Glad to see that it works! :)

User avatar
Wormbo
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun 28. Aug 2011, 11:52
Description: Coding Dude

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Wormbo » Sat 26. Dec 2015, 14:36

You and you love of space characters in path names... :P

User avatar
Miauz55555
Posts: 777
Joined: Sun 7. Jun 2015, 22:12
Location: Germany

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Miauz55555 » Sat 26. Dec 2015, 14:44

Wormbo wrote:Do yourself a favor an never ever install UT2004 anywhere under Program Files, but e.g. directly under the root of your C: drive.

Is that a win10 problem?
I have it on win7 under D,prog,games,epic,ut and no problem. Or it's because I have the 6CD-DVD? I also had never a problem when I just copied the files in the folder.
Image

[P]etya
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue 16. Jun 2015, 07:42
Description: someone

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby [P]etya » Sat 26. Dec 2015, 16:18

Miauz55555 wrote:
Wormbo wrote:Do yourself a favor an never ever install UT2004 anywhere under Program Files, but e.g. directly under the root of your C: drive.

Is that a win10 problem?
I have it on win7 under D,prog,games,epic,ut and no problem. Or it's because I have the 6CD-DVD? I also had never a problem when I just copied the files in the folder.


It doesn't cause problems I think, but I can say for sure that on Win7, on Win8 and on Win10 it will restrict certain procedures. So if an error occurs you will have a hard time fixing it due to these restrictions.

User avatar
EmanReleipS
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed 2. Oct 2013, 23:18
Description: Pancake Fairy
Location: Germany

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby EmanReleipS » Sat 26. Dec 2015, 18:19

Miauz55555 wrote:
Wormbo wrote:Do yourself a favor an never ever install UT2004 anywhere under Program Files, but e.g. directly under the root of your C: drive.

Is that a win10 problem?
I have it on win7 under D,prog,games,epic,ut and no problem. Or it's because I have the 6CD-DVD? I also had never a problem when I just copied the files in the folder.


I had the same issue before when I had to reinstall my OS and everything else on my PC, back on Win7. From what Wormbo said, it seems like it's a problem with spaces in the installation path.

What's a 6CD-DVD? I have it on a single DVD, but it has 6 folders on it labeled "CD1", "CD2" and so forth. Is that the same as yours?
Image

User avatar
Miauz55555
Posts: 777
Joined: Sun 7. Jun 2015, 22:12
Location: Germany

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Miauz55555 » Sat 26. Dec 2015, 18:45

EmanReleipS wrote:[...]I have it on a single DVD, but it has 6 folders on it labeled "CD1", "CD2" and so forth. Is that the same as yours?

Yes I think so. In CD6 are the special tools which will not install automaticly.
Image

User avatar
Wormbo
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun 28. Aug 2011, 11:52
Description: Coding Dude

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Wormbo » Sat 26. Dec 2015, 18:48

The program files folder is problematic in several ways. Spaces is a potential problem, but a very real one is that UT200x assumes it always has full write access to its installation folder. That was standard for administrators up until WinXP. Starting with Vista, however, the UAC feature restricted access rights even for programs started by an administrator unless it was either explicitly launched with admin rights from the start or later requested them.

There is also some special handling under Win64 how 32 bit processes (like UT2004 and its setup) see the registry and file system, which is mainly a security thing to prevent 32 bit programs from messing up 64 bit settings.

User avatar
EmanReleipS
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed 2. Oct 2013, 23:18
Description: Pancake Fairy
Location: Germany

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby EmanReleipS » Sat 26. Dec 2015, 19:33

Wormbo wrote:The program files folder is problematic in several ways. Spaces is a potential problem, but a very real one is that UT200x assumes it always has full write access to its installation folder. That was standard for administrators up until WinXP. Starting with Vista, however, the UAC feature restricted access rights even for programs started by an administrator unless it was either explicitly launched with admin rights from the start or later requested them.


Thanks for the clarification. That reminds me, with the previous installation in the Program Files folder I had to open Notepad++ as an administrator to make any changes to the ini file. That probably caused the problems.

Good thing I made this thread. Next time I need to reinstall UT and run into these issues, I can look up how to fix them. :lol:

Thanks to all of you for your help. *hands out cookies*
Image

User avatar
Xac
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu 15. Nov 2012, 14:21
Description: keeping it UNreal since 2004

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Xac » Mon 28. Dec 2015, 18:34

EmanReleipS wrote:
What's a 6CD-DVD? I have it on a single DVD, but it has 6 folders on it labeled "CD1", "CD2" and so forth. Is that the same as yours?


I think that's because the original game release back in 2004 was on 5 installation CDs and a play CD to be able to run the game. I had a box of these CDs when I first bought the game, but gave it away a few years ago, when I had several copies on DVDs, which came with all the updates and no need for the play CD.

I think I'll have to try a complete uninstall and then install direct to the C: drive to see if that solves the issues preventing me from adjusting brightness/contrast/gamma.

Anyway, Good to see "Ema_on_a_laptop" at last ;)
I tried to drown my sorrows, but somehow they learned how to swim...

[P]etya
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue 16. Jun 2015, 07:42
Description: someone

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby [P]etya » Mon 28. Dec 2015, 18:58

Indeed. At that time the stuff required for installation was stored on CDs, which didn't have big capacity (usually 650-900 MiB). I remember that lots of games came out with multiple CDs required for installation, like Red Alert 2 which also had 2 CDs.


Return to “General”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest