Running UT2004 on Windows 10

UT2004 related discussions
User avatar
Xac
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu 15. Nov 2012, 14:21
Description: keeping it UNreal since 2004

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Xac » Wed 18. Jan 2017, 13:42

Success!! I copied the UT2004 out of the Unreal Anthology folder directly to the C:\ drive and did the regedit you suggested and now it works, I can adjust brightness, contrast and Gamma once again. :D :dancegal: :yippiiieh: :wohoo:

Thanks Miau you little genius! :lol: :clap:

I didn't need to try your ini files to get it to work. I already had reduce mouse lag as false and purge=0 in the ini file, was there anything else useful you had in your ini files which would be worth changing on mine? Someone said something about changing server tick rates a while back, would that help?
I tried to drown my sorrows, but somehow they learned how to swim...

RottenToTheCore
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri 6. Jan 2012, 12:57
Description: Not related to Power-Cores ;)

Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby RottenToTheCore » Wed 17. May 2017, 19:46

Since newest Update that was rolled out some days ago UT2004 wont start in 85hz anymore on my CRT (yes i still play on a crt). Does anyone have an idea how to force a Refresh Rate in Win 10? It's so fucking frustrating.

Crazy_Eddie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 10. Jan 2017, 15:40
Description: Never learns.

Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Crazy_Eddie » Thu 18. May 2017, 15:25

Settings -> System -> Display -> Display adapter properties -> (a new window pops up) -> "Monitor" tab -> pick your screen refresh rate from the drop-down.

RottenToTheCore
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri 6. Jan 2012, 12:57
Description: Not related to Power-Cores ;)

Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby RottenToTheCore » Fri 19. May 2017, 20:41

Hey Crazy :),

that won't do it :/. That's too easy :mrgreen: . Even on my 120hz monitor ut will only run in 75hz. Same goes for other old games like GTA-SA and even newer shooters like Borderlands 2. Before the update all was fine in 120hz.

I heard that microsuck added some game mode, perhaps this screwed everything?

User avatar
Miauz55555
Posts: 849
Joined: Sun 7. Jun 2015, 22:12
Location: Germany

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Miauz55555 » Fri 19. May 2017, 21:07

Maybe you could force it with your GPU driver, specified for the programm?
Image

Crazy_Eddie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 10. Jan 2017, 15:40
Description: Never learns.

Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Crazy_Eddie » Tue 23. May 2017, 14:53

RottenToTheCore wrote:Hey Crazy :),

I heard that microsuck added some game mode, perhaps this screwed everything?


I haven't played with it, but there's Windows Game Mode. I believe you can turn this on/off with Win-G.

Otherwise, follow Miauz's advice and look for a control panel specific to your graphics adapter. In my case, it's "intel HD Graphics Control Panel". That may have the additional setting you need.

Edit: I just thought of something else. Are you trying to play in a window or fullscreen? Because I get radically different rendering between the two.

RottenToTheCore
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri 6. Jan 2012, 12:57
Description: Not related to Power-Cores ;)

Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby RottenToTheCore » Mon 5. Jun 2017, 12:43

Hey guys, the Display Driver Properties are - of course - the first things i check and update. Nothing would help at all. I now uninstalled the creator's update and everything went back to fine :)

Crazy_Eddie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 10. Jan 2017, 15:40
Description: Never learns.

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby Crazy_Eddie » Fri 16. Jun 2017, 11:33

Just found this tutorial. It may be relevant to someone with issues displaying UT2K under Win 10:

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/6-display-s ... indows-10/

Good luck!

User avatar
SysX
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat 4. Mar 2017, 08:59
Location: Holland / Netherlands

Re: Running UT2004 on Windows 10

Postby SysX » Wed 21. Jun 2017, 15:30

Only issue I had on w10 was the lack of sound (no sound at all), if you encounter this issue you have to download the OpenAll driver and uncheck 'system driver' in the ut menu -> audio settings.


Return to “General”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests