Running UT2004 on macOS Sierra

UT2004 related discussions
ThunderCat
Description: Swiggity swooty

Running UT2004 on macOS Sierra

Postby ThunderCat » Sat 26. Nov 2016, 01:11

Figured since there's a thread about running UT2k4 on Windows -- I thought we might have our own thread for the people running UT2k4 on Macs :cool2cool:

I know there's at least couple of you out there that operate in the Mac OS X/macOS ecosystem -- so I felt maybe it would be a good idea to have thread where we could share our own experiences and discuss any issues we might have :thumbup:

Anyhoots -- the reason why I am reaching out is because after a recent update I have encountered a few hiccups that I just can't seem to resolve :thumbdown:

I've been playing UT2004 on and off now for the last 7-8 years -- ever since the glory days of Leopard/Snow Leopard (Rip Rosetta :lol: ) -- with no problems at all. But after I updated to macOS Sierra -- weird things started happening ...

So -- issue #1: Freezing
After I first launched UT2k4, I noticed some hanging(?) when pressing buttons in the menus. Even pressing "Join Game" freezes the game for a good 5-10 seconds before the screen comes up. This freeze also happens when I press sub menu categories like "LAN"; "Favorites", and "Internet". This hanging or freezing is also present when first joining the server -- and when switching between maps before and after the loading screen (in-game).

issue #2: In-game mouse scrolling/weapon switching
This one is kinda hard to explain but probably the most frustrating one -- so please bear with me :lol: You know how when you scroll the mouse wheel to toggle which weapon to bring up -- you click once from bio rifle you get assault rifle, once more you get mines/grenades, then shock rifle and so on ...
Well, mine seems to be picking weapons at almost random. It can scroll fine one way -- but when I scroll back it stops half way through and just toggles between 2 or 3 weapons in that "section".