Critical Error

UT2004 related discussions
joeblow
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun 16. Feb 2014, 20:41
Description: male gamer
Location: tennessee,usa

Critical Error

Post by joeblow »

I should have added it was on my much hated unused winxp laptop not my usually computer that I play on. It needed an updated file on almost every map played...and caused some computer over heating on the black load in screen on my end.

So for me it does indicate there is something missing in the downloads of files that are being used that havent before.

This would effect new players that never have played before?
User avatar
EmanReleipS
Administrator
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed 2. Oct 2013, 23:18
Description: Pancake Fairy
Location: Germany

Critical Error

Post by EmanReleipS »

Sorry Joey, I don't really understand what you are trying to say. From your description it just sounds to me like you had to download maps or map dependencies which your usual pc already has in its cache.
Image
User avatar
GLoups!
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri 3. Feb 2012, 17:57
Description: Just play for fun.
Location: Fr

Critical Error

Post by GLoups! »

If you want to avoid loading files from the server to another pc or Os installation, all you have to do is copy the entire contents of your old cache file (..:\UT2004\Cache) with a USB key on your new installation.

Then search in your UT2004.ini files for:

Code: Select all

[Core.System]
PurgeCacheDays=30
And change this to

Code: Select all

[Core.System]
PurgeCacheDays=9999
This will prevent you from re-downloading everything every month.
joeblow
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun 16. Feb 2014, 20:41
Description: male gamer
Location: tennessee,usa

Critical Error

Post by joeblow »

joeblow wrote: Tue 4. Aug 2020, 15:18 I should have added it was on my much hated unused winxp laptop not my usually computer that I play on. It needed an updated file on almost every map played...and caused some computer over heating on the black load in screen on my end.

So for me it does indicate there is something missing in the downloads of files that are being used that havent before.

This would effect new players that never have played before?
Very sorry I reread what I wrote and its doesnt make much sense.

Concerning the file mismatch errors Sana and I have been getting my comments are...

If I was a new incoming player that never played before there might be some problems with the download files in some way or other on some maps.

If I was a new player that never played before I might be confused what or why this is happening. I myself would have never known there was an issue until I dusted off my old,old backup UT2004 laptop and played two weeks ago. My main UT2004 computer has been out for 5 months and I have been on hiatus.

Apologies I have no good real solution at this time.
joeblow
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun 16. Feb 2014, 20:41
Description: male gamer
Location: tennessee,usa

Critical Error

Post by joeblow »

Image

Ema per last nights discussion.

3 maps I was having trouble with

Dria C, Omahabeach )o(V5, Alien2 t32

Only way I fixed it was delete EVERYTHING in my map folder and let everything re download.

Sana commented last week she thought it was a hellhound? package but that maybe a translation issue on my part.

I have not crashed out on any maps since then in more than 30 days.

As far as the lag I get alot of what I call skin lag, 5 sec freezes, mostly from certain players skins but the Pally for sure is and odd bird. It appears and disappears at random especially if Im in the tank. I mentioned the skin lag thing a few weeks ago and triggered a Blackwood tirade.
User avatar
EmanReleipS
Administrator
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed 2. Oct 2013, 23:18
Description: Pancake Fairy
Location: Germany

Critical Error

Post by EmanReleipS »

Hey Joey, I think I resolved my lag problem (from explosions, death animations) by deleting some error codes in my user.ini. You could try that as well.

Go to Systems -> open User.ini -> check the section [GUI2K4.UT2k4ServerBrowser]. In my case, there was a huge "ServerCache" list. I deleted all of them, which bumped the size of my User.ini down from 16MB to 160KB... :lol:
Think that might have been the source of my problems.
Image
joeblow
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun 16. Feb 2014, 20:41
Description: male gamer
Location: tennessee,usa

Critical Error

Post by joeblow »

Oh wow Ill check that one out I bet with my slow HD that would really kill performance.
joeblow
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun 16. Feb 2014, 20:41
Description: male gamer
Location: tennessee,usa

Critical Error

Post by joeblow »

Image

Maybe this is the problem with my keyboard!

Ema I did check that folder and I was surprised it was very very small like it should be but thanks for the tip.